Clothes for a cause – ending Human Trafficking

The solopreneur

The Solopreneur3

Entrepreneurship is a word that sounds very glamorous. When I think entrepreneur, I think, freedom, being my own boss, setting my own schedule… DOING WHATEVER I WANT TO DO WHEN I WANT TO DO IT! Well… while all this may be true, it usually isn’t true until much, much later down the line. Up until this point, entrepreneurship is anything but glamorous. At least for me, there is absolutely nothing glamorous about working by myself, day in and out, and having to be an expert in everything. Here are 5 experiences solopreneurs face regularly:

1. Taxes

Depending on how complicated your business setup is, you really need to make sure you’re paying the right taxes, at the right time, to the right people, in the right states, and on the right forms. This is overwhelming. There are usually services that can help you out with this, but it doesn’t excuse you from having an understanding of it yourself. This alone is stress. And did I also mention, it is overwhelming.

2. Sales calls

If you’re selling business to business, you have to do the dreaded: make cold calls. I tend to not have too many problems meeting people I’ve never met before, face to face. However, having to talk to random people I don’t know, on the phone. WOW. It makes my heart beat so fast, I can barely hear the folks on the other end of the line.

3. Emotional scars

Being a solopreneur is emotionally draining. I mean seriously. You believe in what you’re doing but many people may not and every once in a while, it becomes a battle to keep motivated. Basically, it goes like this:

You: “What do you think of this wonderful baby I’ve put my heart and soul into and I love so much with all my heart and every fiber of my being and it’s the best thing I’ve ever created?”

Random critic: “It sucks”

You: “What is the meaning of life?”

LOL. Kind of exaggerating, but sometimes if feels like that and you have to learn to build a tough shell. It’s factually impossible to please everyone.

4. Social awkwardness

I mean, you basically work all day and every other waking moment on your business. You become weird. You forget what it’s like to interact with people. I am definitely guilty of this. A few days of getting out of my bubble usually remedies this, but I feel sorry for the people who have to experience me after days of a lack of other human interaction. Sorry folks!

5. Absolutely consumed by their business

This is just a shame, but we basically become so consumed by our business, it takes a few good friends to tell us that we need to think of other things. Also, we spend so much time wishing me had help, yet we don’t pull ourselves out of the business long enough to find help. This is more of me lecturing to myself. It’s just sometimes tough to remember that there is a world out there that is in no way connected to the business and that we need not forget about that world.

However, as tough as these aspects of the journey may be, for now, it seems worth it and as the old adage goes, “no pain, no gain”. Anything important, involves a lot of work and sacrifice. Yes, it’s a risk, but you won’t know if it’ll pay off until you put in the work and until you earn your stripes.

Proverbs By Efua makes work clothes for a cause – ending Human Trafficking. We aim to be the affordable, high quality, work wear choice for professionals who want to enhance their level of confidence, charisma and goodwill.

What are your thoughts?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

